The Monopoly Deal Rules for for House and Hotel Cards section contains a list of Rules and frequently asked questions pertaining to how House and Hotel cards can be used, when and in what order they can be used, and what they can do. Topics range from "Can a Hotel be used before a House" and "What does laying a Hotel do" to "Can a House be stolen". The official Monopoly Rules are used to answer as many of the questions as possible. If the official rules are not known for that question then the generally accepted answer is used.
Yes. A house must be laid before a hotel can be laid.
No, a house must be laid before a hotel can be laid.
A player can only lay a hotel on a completed property set where a house already resides.
A player can only lay a house on a completed property set.
This is a debated topic as there are two ways most people play. Some play that the Hotel card cancels the charge for the House card as if the house was demolished and the hotel was built in its place. In this case, the House and Hotel combo would only be worth a total of $4M when charging rent (added on top of the total rent for the completed property set of course). We believe that the House and Hotel combo is worth a total of $7M as if the homeowner built a hotel next to his house. It is hard enough to be able to lay a house on a completed property set then to be able to lay a hotel as well and then charge rent, you should be able to get the full $7M for all your hard work. It has been noted that Hasbro has confirmed the $4M rule over email, however, we did not get Hasbro’s confirmation on this directly.
No. House and hotel cards cannot be laid on railroads or utility cards cause that just doesn’t make any sense silly.
Yes and no. You can only steel a house or hotel on a completed set with a Deal Breaker. If a house/hotel is on a completed set, it cannot be taken with a Force Deal or Sly Deal. If a player has a house/hotel on the table that is not part of a full completed set, then a Force Deal or Sly Deal can be used to steel it. See house/hotel question below for how a house/hotel can be placed on the table by its self.
Yes, but you cannot lay down a House or Hotel card unless you can play it on a completed set. However, if a player charges you money and you decide to pay with some of the property from your completed set that includes a House and/or Hotel, the House or Hotel must be placed on the table next to your property section until you complete another set and it can be placed on top. You can also pay with your house or hotel card if you choose.